top of page


Amphibians are vertebrates (phylum Chordata) known as the class Amphibia. They are cold-blooded (ectothermic) and have to return to water to lay their eggs. These eggs hatch larvae, known as tadpoles for frogs and toads, which feed and change into adults which are equipped for life on the land. This change is called metamorphosis. There are three groups of amphibians:

  • Frogs and toads

  • Newts and salamanders

  • Caecilians

bottom of page